Congratulations New Local Greens Councillors

Mr HIBBINS (Prahran) — I would like to congratulate all recently elected councillors at the councils within the Prahran electorate: Stonnington, Port Phillip and Melbourne. Well done to the newly elected Greens councillors at Port Phillip City Council, Tim Baxter, Kat Copsey and Ogy Simic — they ran a strong campaign and topped the polls in their respective wards; to re-elected councillors in the City of Melbourne Rohan Leppert and Cathy Oke; and to all elected Greens councillors across Victoria, who now number 29. Our local communities in the inner city, suburbs and regional Victoria will be more livable and more sustainable as a result.

Well done too to Stonnington Greens candidates Mike Scott, James Cooper, Nicole Gunn and Polly Morgan, who narrowly missed out on being elected despite an increased Green vote and two candidates finishing second on primaries and one third. Special thanks to Erin Davie — she and I were the first ever Greens councillors at Stonnington Council — for her hard work and achievements, which have made our community a better place to live.